Having been a professional proofreader in my past, I can’t help but get a kick out of some unusual translations between language that enter into marketing copy.  I recently had the wonderful opportunity to travel on the mafiabankrupt Alitalia airlines.  I say recently, because to me any travel is good travel.  I was disappointed that the gentleman at my check in from my original departure point told me I could not enroll there in their MilleMiglia Program because I’m always hopeful I’ll start doing so much travel I will be able to cash in a get a free trip, though I usually just get some subscription to a magazine I don’t really need cluttering up my reading bin in order to salvage use of miles.  Anyway, I was checking out the airline’s partners, to see if perhaps I was already a member of one of the affiliate airlines, and under Alitalia’s SkyTeam Partners, I got a chuckle out of the statement “The SkyTeam Awards scheme is one of the major advantages you get from the SkyTeam Alliance.”  Darn, an italian scheme I could be part of, and don’t even have to join the Mafia!

Published in: on January 17, 2009 at 9:35 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://soulseeking.wordpress.com/2009/01/17/188/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

