picking up where I left off, and picking up the pieces

My last entry was about streamlining, downsizing, among other things.  So here’s an interesting query…if one scans photos, what do you do with the original?  It seems a shame to throw them away.  But if you have them digitally?  Well, I guess the answer is a mix of several things. 

 First of all, an old friend of mine (an unrequited love, actually) gave me an interesting perspective on memorabilia.  He asked me to ask myself if going throw bits and pieces, old letters, momentos, etc. really gave me joy.  I had to admit, the nostalgic feelings generally dredge up more sense of longing, regret, and wistful sadness than any great overflowing joy.  Yes, I did come across a beautifully written letter by a great aunt of my ex-husbands, a wonderful soul who lived her life for others and God, a true woman of the spirit and a nun by vocation.  She wrote to me in the last year of her life, commending my beautiful spirit, in her elegant hand, and this touching message was a joy to read.  But my decision, after reading it one last time, was to savor the moment, store up the memory of her and her greetings to me in that time in my mind and, ultimately, throw the letter away.

 Here’s another thought that I had, as I turned the key in the lock to come home after a long day.  I had recently come across in my bag, a handly large stashing container that I shuffle bits of my daily life from home to work, and back again, working towards my various professional, social, personal events/goals/dreams/commitments, an article that I’d clipped for a dear friend. 

I think I wrote about him last time.  His goal, if I have it correctly, among other things, is to pare down his possession to around or exactly (I’ll have to ask him) 500 items.  My mother, by the way, asked if a pair of shoes was 1 or 2 items.  I told her, “Mom! Of course that’s one!”  Anyway, the observation I made, mentally, upon being a big, grown-up latch-key kinda girl, was that this habit of clipping articles for loved ones really is a bit futile cycling of energy.  Because unfortunately I believe the recipient of these little clippings don’t take nearly the interest in the content of the article as the clipper imagines, and reads them cursorily, scanning the content, and guiltily pitching them.  The best we can hope for is if the well-meaning, nurturing and undoubtedly frazzled (unless bestowed with way more time than is health) clipper has gone one step further and underlined very key phrases that magically “POP” off the article and spurn some vital catalyctic transformation in the clippee.  Moi?  I’m changing my ways.  Instead of clipping newpaper articles, I’ve turned a new leaf.  I now send hyperlinks!

Published in: on August 22, 2007 at 2:50 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://soulseeking.wordpress.com/2007/08/22/picking-up-where-i-left-off-and-picking-up-the-pieces/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

